The Roundabout House

If you live in The Villages, you are familiar with the yellow farmhouse that sits just at the side of the roundabout at Buena Vista and Bonita.  You can’t help but notice it since it doesn’t exactly blend in with the rest of our present-day homes.  Every time I drive by I think, “I need to take a picture” so last night I jumped in the golf cart with my camera and boogied on down there.

untitled-4-1

 

In case you’re wondering, a plaque at the house, officially named the Brinson/Perry Residence, says it was built by Hampton B. Brinson between 1885 and 1891 in nearby Oxford, Florida — one of the first in that community.  To preserve the home from demolition, it was moved to its current location in 2004.  Sadly, it still sits empty.  It would make a great place to house an archive collection of photos showing stages of The Villages development.

I decided to also post process the image using a pencil sketch filter in Topaz Impressions and I can’t decide which I like best.  Any opinions?

untitled-1

 


Leave a Reply

