Micanopy, Florida

I ventured to up I-75 the other day to see what I could see in Micanopy, a sleepy little hamlet a few miles south of Gainesville.   It’s pronounced mick-uh-no-pee, by the way.  When I first moved to Florida I called it my-canopy!  According to Wikipedia, the town was named after a Seminole Chief in order to stay on his good side (you know, for taking over his land to form a settlement).  And, here’s a little tidbit of trivia: the film Doc Hollywood, starring Michael J. Fox, was filmed there!

 

I guess most people go to Micanopy to visit the few antiques shop there.  This is one of the more colorful.

_DSC26251117

There is also a museum that grabs your attention with this great Coca-Cola mural.

_DSC260811011102

Because the town was formed in 1821, the main historic district has lots of wonderful old buildings with gorgeous brick, doors with character, and vines running rampant everywhere. My kinda place!  So I spent most of my time wandering around the sides and backs of buildings and didn’t even venture in the establishments that were open.

 

_DSC25911111

_DSC259610831084

 

 


6 responses to “Micanopy, Florida

Leave a Reply

